Blog post 5 – ( Academic Libraries ) Speed Dating about books ? – Final Thoughts

Today in class was interesting …I mean very interesting. I try speed dating.
Not your ordinary speed dating, this speed dating was having one minute to tell a classmate of mine about a book chosen from the Golden Oak Winner and nominates page and tell them what it’s a good books for adults who are newly literate. It was a ton of fun and I hope to do a book talk again soon from what I learn the first time doing it.
Questions regarding the Speed dating / Book talk

What worked well with our speed dating event?
I believe that the speed dating event went really well because people were getting better at shortening on what to say about the book they decided to read, why it would be a good book for the adults who are newly literate. Some of the classmates were really into their book, getting very excited when they talk about the character and plot line. I like how almost every peer had a different book from this Golden Oak list so that no one has the same book and not repeat the same thing from another peer. Finally,  I love how everyone became social with each other since the majority of the class is shy, reserved and does not like speaking to people in the class.
What didn’t work well?
I found it very crowded in the room the class was in, which made it hard to concentrate on giving a peer a sixty second book talk. I notice some peers did not move when they needed to so, timing was cut when I had to wait for them to move on to the next person. Also, some peers did not project their voice over the noise so I could hardly understand what they were saying.
How would you improve or modify this event if you delivered it at the DC/UOIT library
If I was running the speed dating event at DC/UOIT library I would have given everyone a chance to speed date with everyone since I only manage to listen to six peers to persuade me into reading their book when there was twenty three students in total to see. When I had to vote, it unfair to only vote for only those six peers when I should have heard from everyone.
Regarding your delivery of a book talk…
What pieces of advice or instruction did you incorporate into your booktalk?
• I gave a short summary of the book – The Breadwinner by Deborah Ellis – Who Pravana is , where she is from, what her family is like, her character development throughout the story
o The book was audience for newly literate adults and gave a reasons why, a para text that has a beginning author note, ending author note, a map, and glossary and index. The words are simple, the book flows fast and there is a multiple themes for further discussion and thinking.
Who delivered an especially memorable book talk? Why?
Raven, who had gave her book talk on Fatty Legs – based on a true story. Raven did an amazing job projecting her voice over the loud noise, presenting her book content, she kept her book talk short and show the pictures that made me want to grab the book from her hands and read it right there. She seem very sincere and enjoyed the book a lot and wanted people to know the character story.

What else do you need to learn about book talking to become an effective booktalker?
• Know who your audience is – if there students in grade 7 or ten, there are going to be distracted very easily so the best case is too quick and thorough of content for time. For adults, you need to make sure that the topic or subject will catch their attention whether it’s fictional or nonfiction.
• Choose books you already read that people would love to read. – I choose to read the Breadwinner again because when I read the series the first time back in grade seven, I got chills and cried of how powerful it made me feel to be a female. The breadwinner made me feel that there are heroes out there who are taking one step at a time to make a difference for themselves, their family, their villages and individuals who relate to them over the world. Find interest or topics/ issues users want to know more
• Chose books that as a wide varies of titles and book formats. Choose different genres than romance, there science fiction, historical fiction, mysteries and suspense, coming out of age, LGBT stories, poetry and so much more. Choose books that are short, long, have illustrations or is a graphic novel. The Breadwinner is a short realistic fiction about a girl who disguises herself as a boy to support her family through the rough conditions of the early regime of the Taliban army. It about 145 pages long, it’s a para text with extras in it. Users’ would enjoy it for world issues of women in society, warfare, and epic suspense that anyone can read.
• Use a short quotes to get User’s / peers intrigue and want to pick up the book to read even more

What steps will you take if you need to deliver a booktalk in the future?
The steps I would take for future reference if I were to do another book talk is to have a friend or my roommate to let me practice my book talk speech to them, to feel more prepare, to get feedback and know the best way to get User’s / peers to read a book because I had to keep shorten what I was going to originally say for timing wise.

About Librarian information and Tech at Durham

Librarian Information and Tech
This entry was posted in Client Services 1 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

